The Wise words of Fields Medallists….

Silly points

Given my proclivity for hero worship, I devour the news items of interviews of Fields medalists etc; i found some gems from the interview of 2006 winners;

the actual interview can be read here.
Here are the excerpts

M & P:How do you prefer to work on mathematical
problems? Alone or in collaboration?
Okounkov: Perhaps you can guess from what I
said before that I like to work alone, I equally like to
freely share my thoughts, and I also like to perfect
my papers and talks.
There may well be alternate routes, but I personally don’t know how one
can understand something
without both thinking about it quietly over and over
and discussing it with friends.When I feel puzzled,
I like long walks or bike rides. I like to be alone with
my computer playing with formulas or experimenting with
code. But when I finally have an idea, I…

View original post 552 more words

Leave a Reply

